Deep Roots

We all have things happen in our lives. Some of the stick in a deep place than others. Our thoughts and memories are much like the roots of a plant or tree. They start with a seed and grow deeper. Our relationship with Christ can be viewed in the same way. Loving Jesus is the seed. The rest of our beliefs stem from this. Our faith becomes stronger and stronger over the years and we learn and grow in our faith. Our faith roots are, or at least should be, one of the strongest support systems we have. Deep roots help protect plants from storms. They allow the plant to stay grounded. Much like our roots in Jesus can help us get through daily storms.  Weeding one of the many gardens at camp today reminded me of how stoner my God is, how he will be there to take care of and hold me together when I need it most. He also spread out in many directions opening and closing doors in my life… Just like the roots continue to branch out. 

I am rooted in Christ, are you?

Leave a comment